[BUG] Changing variable resets everything

As already mentioned in this thread is resetting everything only because of selecting another variable a big "no go":

This happens e.g. when you edit a set variable action:

Everything still OK:

But after only selecting another variable:

All the settings for this action are gone!?! :open_mouth:

And to make everything even more unsatisfying:
There is no possibility to UNDO!

I have seen something that seems to me to be very similar to what you are showing. When it was investigated by @bravenel, the cause of the issue was found to be with the driver code.

There can be a problem with how the attribute was declared in the driver (Ex.: “Text” versus “ENUM”).

I am not a developer, so this was a bit over my head... Assuming that this problem is with a community driver, the developer might be able to make some code modifications to fix this. Alternatively, if you can code in Groovy, you might be able to make/test some changes yourself to see if it fixes the issue.

Hi @Sebastien, thanx a lot for your answer!

But the problem shown in my example is 100% driver independent; In fact no device is touched in this rule action.

Setting variables are completly done by Rule Machine itself.
BTW: Where is the source code for Rule Machine published? :thinking:

Ah! Then it might be a different issue...

It is not. It is proprietary to Hubitat.

1 Like

This kinda relates to the OP.

Didn't want to start a new thread on this as I'd kinda rather hide the stupidity of not thinking about the consequence of my actions.

Set up Local Variable in RM 5.0
Went in and used the variable in a Delay
Decided I didn't like the name, went back to change it
Didn't see how to change, so created new one
Blissfully decided to do the house cleaning and DELETED old one

Yup, sure enough I broke things with the old one still referenced in the rule !
-----> [error] java.lang.ClassCastException: null (mainPage)