[Beta] Push user logs to Syslog server

I'm not very experienced with syslog, but this device driver works for me. feedback is appreciated.

https://github.com/hubitatuser12/hubitatCode/blob/master/drivers/Syslog.groovy

6 Likes

So, you're using a localhost connection to the websocket within hubitat to get the logs? Why not simply connect to the websocket from the system you are dumping the logs to? That seems like it would be a lot less hassle and trouble to me. This is like faxing yourself a copy something you just noted down. Yeah, it works. But could you have just kept the note?

That would require more software. If you just have a syslog server running somewhere you can use this driver to send your logs to it. Otherwise you'd have to setup a nodejs server or something else to pull the logs from the hub and then send it to the syslog server (3 servers) instead of the syslog server and the hubitat hub (2 servers)

Thanks for this. I like that its formatted correctly for syslogging.

1 Like

Thanks for the kind words. @Evilborg, thanks for noticing the formatting. :smile: It was really important to me that it matched up to spec too.

@johnwick, I tried -- with mixed success -- using the websocket plugin for Logstash. It was okay, but I have quite a bit already invested with syslog servers (since nearly all my infrastructure "speaks" it in some form or fashion). And even though I do use logstash and the "beats" quite a lot, configure the websocket plugin for all the odd devices on my HE got to be overwhelming. As @User12Hubitat mentioned, my logstash instance became the 3rd server.

When @User12Hubitat gave me a headstart (!) with UDP -- and though I do like nodejs, I was glad to not have to stand that up -- I sort of ran with it.

2 Likes

I'm getting a 404 when I try to pull up the link to the code. Has the code base moved to another repo?

Definitely looking to try out the syslog function! Excellent work based on what I've read in this and another thread.

Try