Best way to automate hot water recirculating pump

My hot water recirculating pump is attached to a z-wave outlet ...what is the best way to create an automation that turns on the pump for 8 minutes at a time every hour during waking hours?

Iโ€™m sure it can be done other ways but here is one.

4 Likes

I'm New to the rule machine, how did you set up the "Select Actions to Run" part of the rule? thanks

I automate mine a little bit differently. I have one rule that turns on the water recirculation when I turn on the shower light this way while I'm getting ready for the shower the hot water is arriving

I then have another setup so I can just tell alexa to turn on hot water. This way we get hot water when we need it for washing dishes or laundry

1 Like

I use motion sensors to make my circulating pump run. It has its own temperature sensor to know when the return pipe reaches a certain temperature, so it turns itself off after at most 3 minutes or so. But to turn it on, whenever motion is detected in the kitchen, laundry room, or bathrooms, that starts the pump. This seems to work out pretty well. Every now and then I will encounter a wait for hot water in a distant bathroom, if no one has been in the kitchen for a while. But usually this approach is good.

3 Likes

@user897

I use the same approach, but it is restricted to the hours when I'll be using hot water. Also, my cats trigger some of my motion sensors, and I don't want the circulating pump to run during the day when my home is in "Away" mode.

2 Likes

First create a condition between two times.

Then create a conditional Action โ€œIf Expression thenโ€.

Then expression.

Thanks, that works. Is there a link you can share to detailed instructions for rule machine? The link in the app takes me to a video, but it seems to be an older version from three years ago

2 Likes

Have you seen this?

1 Like

Thanks!

1 Like

We do it similar to @bravenel, @toy4rick, and @aaiyar with a couple additions