Beginner question, probably basic: Turn on a lamp through wifi outlet? (Australia)

Hello,

I'm completely new to the whole world of home automation, I didn't even know there was such a thing until two weeks ago. So I've been on catchup reading a lot over the past couple of weeks, was very confused for at least the first week until it started to make sense. Read a bit more and then decided to buy into Hubitat and have been researching and starting to buy a few things to connect to.

I've made a few mistakes already however, which has triggered me to write this.

I bought a couple of outlets which I thought were smart, but they weren't as smart as I had hoped. I was expecting something which I now know to be called zigbee or z-wave, but instead they are just wifi based outlets. They are 'Smart Life' products. I've been able to get them connected to our wifi and can toggle a lamp on and off with my phone which was a first for me. It says it works with IFTTT and Alexa etc (of which I have none), but here is where I get stuck.

Can I not get Hubitat to control it through the dashboard? I've signed up for IFTTT, found my hub, found the Smart Life products, but not sure where to go from here. There are all these Applet things - Hubitat applets and Smart Life applets - which ones do I need? I turned on a Smart Life applet to turn my lamp off at 10pm but that didn't work.

Also when I add IFTTT to Hubitat dashboard, there is nothing there. Reading through the documentation but not made any progress so far. Clearly I'm not understanding yet but I was expecting to see my 'Lamp' which is working through our wifi.

Essentially what I want to do is simply be able to control our lamp when I am not at home- a rather modest entry effort into home automation I had imagined..

Is this possible? Do I need to buy an Alexa or Google Home to be the go-between? If there are any clues as to the missing link they would be appreciated :slight_smile:

Sorry for the long post..
Thank you!