August Lock Questions

I'm living in an apartment and considering replacing the interior of the deadbolts. I've had a z-wave smart deadbolt before - but this is my first time converting an existing lock. Looking for some help:

I've seen the August locks on display at Best Buy, but never seen one installed. I am more drawn to the non-pro version / traditional look.

1. From what I understand, the non-pro version with the wifi connect will not work with Hubitat - you need the pro/z-wave? I.e. you can't access August from Hubitat via wifi, only through z-wave?

2. In the store, the pro version seems to be tough to turn/feels clunky to manually lock from the inside versus the non-pro version which was very smooth. Was the pro at the store just treated poorly by customers, or does it take more force to operate / feel plasticy versus a non-smart deadbolt?

3. After unlocking the deadbolt with a key, how long does it take Hubitat to update to trigger rules?

My other consideration is the Kwikset Convert with Z-wave as it's a lot cheaper.

Thanks for the help!

Try the Kwikset Convert. I have non-Pro August. It's possible to connect to HE without Z-Wave, but it's not simple. Non-Pro August requires their August Connect WiFi bridge, unless you connect it via HomeKit, but that's a clunky and unreliable (in my experience) setup to try to get it to connect to HE via Homebridge. I found the HomeKit automations easily get out of sync.

Right now, I'm controlling my August via HE using Google Assistant Relay. So HE is telling Google Assistant Relay (silently) to lock the August lock, and Unlock (with a voice code), but you don't hear it. It's all sent silently to Google Assistant. To get status, I'm using IFTTT to sync with an HE Virtual lock. I works, but slow and clunky.