Assistance with NOT *changed* trigger

I'm moving my rules over from Reactor for Vera into RM and I'm still learning as I go. So thank you in advance for all my questions. I tried searching for this, but didn't see anything.

In Reactor, I have a trigger that if my Inside Temp has NOT changed for 3 hours, then power off my Netatmo device, wait 10 seconds, and power it back on. (Sometimes the base unit needs a kick in the pants.) I thought I could do this with an If rule Then Condition, but I don't have the changed option like I do with the trigger. And there isn't a NOT changed options with the trigger. I'm sure this is due to my learning curve, but...

1. Is there a way to do a NOT trigger?
  2. Am I correct that I could do this with an If/Then rule? And could I get some help to get me started?

Current Reactor rule:

A trigger relies on an event happening; an arrival, moment in time, change of state, etc. You could probably set up a rule to check a state of a device periodically if that helps. I’m sure that others will chime in that have experience with your particular device.

1 Like

Triggers are events, a moment in time, and as mentioned above, they thus rely on something happening. A "rule" in the sense of IF (rule) THEN is a condition or combination of them--a state you can check at a specific time (when that action is reached). So, "changed" doesn't make sense there (nor does "AND" make sense in triggers, sort of the opposite of this and a question that also comes up sometimes).

Do you just want to do something if the sensor hasn't reported a new temperature in 3 hours? If so, trigger on "temperature changed," then make your first action a "Wait for event: elapsed time" for 3 hours. Triggers cancel waits, so you'll only get to the next action if it's been that long since the temperature changed. In this next action (and as many after a you need), you can then do what you want to do in this case.

3 Likes