App code: Compare settings to events

I'm just getting started with custom apps;

I'm trying to recognize which of multiple-selected devices was the one to trigger a handler. In preferences I have an input called 'switch B' which allows multiple switches to be selected. A subscription to switch B activates an event handler. In that event handler I can log two things:

1. "settings.switch B[0]" -- which is the name of the first selected device from preferences.
  2. "evt.device" -- which is the name of the device that triggered the event handler.

When activating the first-selected switch of switch B, both of the above appear identical in the log. But when compared in a truth statement, they are false. That is keeping me from using it in an IF statement. Why are these two things not the same?

A snippet of code with the pertinent syntax from the switch B handler:

And the log output:

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

You should be able to just use the device name, instead of the entire device wrapper (what you've done above). So you could do this:

evt.displayName == "${settings.switchB[0]}"

or the device id, like this:

evt.deviceId == settings.switchB[0].id

1 Like

Thanks for the quick response! I see, I think, that I was using the whole wrapper. I'm still getting my head around that concept.
Your first solution worked. That's just comparing strings, I guess.
I thought the second solution of using the id would be even cleaner, but that one didn't work for me. Are both of those integers?

You know what, evt.deviceId is probably a string, so slap .toLong() on it.

I'm pretty sure that evt.device.id is an integer, and so is settings.switch[0].id. In both cases, pulling id out of a device wrapper.

I never remember this for sure, but a quick test shows me that id in both cases is a String:

In an event handler for a setting named input1:

log.trace "evt.device.id: ${getObjectClassName(evt.device.id)}" // String