Any interest in Art-Net / DMX?

I have some DMX lights I'd like to control through my hub. Currently they are interfaced through an ElectricIMP based setup I hacked together years ago. It works okay using a purpose built HTTP API but I'd rather have local control instead of cloud.

It looks like Art-Net would be the best way to interface these sorts of devices with HE. I haven't been able to find any discussion around this, but figured I'd see if there is any interest in an Art-Net app for HE. I'm still learning the HE APIs, but I think a reasonable architecture would be to create an App which could be used to register Art-Net nodes, the DMX universes controlled by them, etc. The app would then allow you to create child devices with different capabilities depending on how they were setup (e.g. simple dimmer for a single channel, RGB/W for 3,4 and 5 channel lights, etc).

I know people do all sorts of things with individually addressable segments of light strips, pixels, moving heads, and all the effects you can build around more sophisticated devices, but figured I'd start with simple light control and take it from there.

Does this sound useful to anyone? What features would you like to see in an Art-Net app? Are there apps/drivers already built around this that I've missed in my searches?

2 Likes

Nope, you havent missed anything, theres nothing DMX, and nothing MIDI...
Both of which would be extremely useful even if a bit niche...

2 Likes