“And” function

Hello group
I have before got fast and good help, thanks, so now I am back.

I can easily find functions that “if 1 or 2 then 3” but I want “if 1 and 2 then 3” but I can’t find out how to do it.
Suggestions please, and a little detailed, I am quite new in this

Henrik Ullum🇩🇰

What is the context you are referring to?

I have a door contact and a presence sensor (life360), when they both are on, I want a light to turn on

Which app are you using to try to do this? Basic rules, simple rules, rule machine, motion and mode lighting?

I am going to guess that you are trying to use AND in the trigger section of Rule Machine and you cannot do that because a triggers are moments in time and 2 different triggers cannot occur at the exact same moment in time.

Instead, list your triggers as OR then, in your Actions, you use conditionals. For example, your trigger is:
If Door Contact opens OR presence sensor changes to present.

Then your Action is:

If Door Contact is open AND Presence Sensor is present, then turn on light.

The key is that a trigger is an event that occurs in an exact moment of time and a conditional tests the current state of the device.

This confuses a lot of people.

8 Likes

@stephen_nutt's approach will definitely work. With RM5 you have one more option that I think (have not tested) will also work, and that's to use predicate conditions. This condition must be met before the rule triggers.

2 Likes

just know that based on how you want the rule to work (if you're present and the door opens), then the light will turn on when you leave through that door, or if other people open the door as well

I am sorry not to be specific enough, but at least I got something to work with.
I will let you know the outcome.

Sorry and apologize to everyone in this tread

To take it from the beginning, I was not precise about the therms, because I thougth it was pretty simple, which I now realize it is not.