Amazon is buying Eero

Time will tell if this is a good thing...

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2019-02-11/amazon-will-buy-startup-eero-to-help-connect-home-devices

I saw this and asked myself the same thing.
Funny thing is..I've been using eero for ~3 years now and love it but just moved on 2 weeks ago to my new Nighthawk AX8 (thing looks like a stealth bomber). The eeros were struggling to maintain the amount of wifi devices I had on one side of the house, especially while streaming 4K (cut cable a while back)...and I also wanted built in vpn. What surprised me most was that the new router handles everything like a dream AND covers my whole house including the garage.

My plan was to sell my eeros but now I'm going to hold on to them a bit longer to see what Amazon does with them. So now I have a 3 node eero pro system and a bunch of Echo devices being kept in purgatory because who knows what Bezos has up his sleaves.

2 Likes

Bezos may have his attention elsewhere for the next few weeks :smiley: Now that he's the top story on all the gossip sites.

3 Likes

More text and pictures? :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

1 Like

I'd be interested in any feedback you have on the AX8's interface, Netgear has always had a pretty lame GUI (IMHO) is this improved? Also, current firmware is pretty stable? I'm open to trying it out but if WAF will go to crap because of unreliable WiFi I'll be in trouble.