Alexa virtual SWITCH WITHOUT alexa skill

I'm new to Hubitat and I'm unable to do something that was really useful in Smartthings.

I want to create a virtual switch in HE and i'd like to see it in Alexa.

The problem is that I'm in Canada (Quebec) and we don't have access to the Hubitat skill in Alexa. So I tried the HE app Amazon Echo App and I created different switches and was never able to see them in Alexa.

Is it possible to do it without the HE Skill in Alexa ?

Thank you for your help.

I am almost 100% certain that Hubitat's Alexa Skill is available in Canada. I am tagging @bobbyD and @SmartHomePrimer for confirmation.

3 Likes

I can confirm that it is available in Canada - in English. I am using it myself in New Brunswick. Not sure if it is available in French though...

4 Likes

Actually, it is not, Quebec region requires Canadian French.

3 Likes

An option might be to setup Alexa in English instead, and then change the device languages to English/French. That is the setup that I am using and it works.

3 Likes

Yes, it is possible. I just ran a test to see if the "Amazon Echo App" still works the way I remember it from back in the early days of Hubitat (circa March 2018.) I created a Virtual Switch on my Hubitat Hub (my development C7 hub) and made sure to manually change its state to on and off to verify normal behavior. I then installed the built-in "Amazon Echo App" app on my hub, and selected the Virtual Switch that I had just created to be shared with Alexa. I made sure I clicked DONE after adding the virtual switch, which tells the Amazon Echo App that I am done with my changes and to start using the new the new device. Finally, I said "Alexa, Discover Devices" and within a a minute, Alexa announced that she had found my new Hubitat Virtual Switch device. I could then control it via voice without any issues.