Alexa control of my zwave garage door openers

I have 2 Linear/Go Control zwave garage door openers which work great in hubitat. They also show up in the Alexa devices as "Generic z-wave Garage Door Opener". However I can't even ask Alexa the status (open or closed) much less ask her to close them via voice. I don't care about opening them with voice as much as I want to be able to shut them or have alexa shut them. Alexa can shut my z-wave door locks by asking her to lock them so I'd like to do that.

I found the thread below that talks about setting up a 'virtual device' or 'button' to do this?? I am really new to Hubitat having moved over from Wink and I have well over 100 devices I'm trying to sort through but I'm focusing my key devices first; door locks & garage doors.

Can anyone walk me through the process to set up a virtual switch or help me figure out how to make this work? I realize I need to be better educated on this but there is so much to digest with this new hub that I feel like I'm drowning especially when it comes to some of the more advanced scripting features.

Thank you! Here's the thread below that talks about doing this:

tagging @aaiyar

On the Devices tab in Hubitat, click Add Virtual Device in upper right corner. Make the device name whatever you want "Alexa Garage Door Control", for example. Make the device type "Virtual Switch".

Add a rule in RM (or maybe simple automation) that triggers on the virtual switch changing state. If virtual switch turns on, open garage door, else close garage door.

Do whatever magic du jour replicates your devices to Alexa (be sure to allow Alexa app permissions to replicate it).

You can then set up Alexa routines via the Alexa app, "When I say 'Open garage door', turn on virtual switch" and similarly for off.

The idea is that you must make Alexa ignorant of the fact that it is controlling a garage door.

2 Likes