Adding sensors to Alexa

Hi,

I am pretty new to this and I just got my C8 few days ago and I am learning a lot in the process of setting it up.

I have recently bought 2 motion sensors (ThirdReality) and 2 temp/humidity sensors (Sonoff SNZB-02D), They were paired successfully to the C8 and I have tested few basic rules and they seem to be working well.
The motion sensors were added as generic Zigbee Motion with no temp, not sure if there was specific driver for them(at least I couldn't find one) while the Sonoffs were added with a dedicated driver.
I tried then to expose them to the Echo Skill but I am not having any luck
They are in the devices list in the Echo skill but Alexa seems to be ignoring them and doesn't know they exist.

Is there something I am missing or simply they are not compatible and won't work with Alexa through Hubitat?

Thank you

Which devices are not showing up in the Alexa Skill? The motion sensors should work without any trouble. Temperature/Humidity sensors??? Not supported unless the temp sensor is part of a motion or contact sensor.

Take a look at the Hubitat Documentation for the Alexa Skill.

1 Like

Thank you for answering.

It sucks the temp sensor cannot be added but I will survive :grinning:

As far as the motion sensor it does not get discovered by Alexa. I have followed this guide though as a workaround and seems to be working. Steps 6 onwards that covered the virtual switches
Alexa and Hubitat - :bellhop_bell: Get Help / Integrations - Hubitat

In order for the Alexa skill to see a motion sensor, I believe its hubitat “device” details page must properly show the “motion” attribute as either “active” or “inactive”. If that attribute does not show up on the motion sensor’s device details page, the Alexa skill will not “see” the device. Just a guess…

The sensor does have the active inactive state listed
I thought I got the workaround going but sadly no go. With or without the Virtual SW it does not get detected.