Actions between two times

Hi all,
i have a rule that controls lights in my kitchen and dining room, such that after 30 minutes of either of these lights been turned on they will turn off. this is done by setting a delay of 30 minutes and turning them off.

i would like to improve it, as it seems to be a little annoying in practice, so:

1. i would like the trigger to only fire if it is not the afternoon or evening, say do not trigger if it is after 3pm until 8pm, so the times that the kitchen may have the heaviest usage. at times outside this duration id like the rule to be active.

I see only the option to have "at certain time". is there not a between A and B capability?

Could this be done with local variables?

i am somewhat new to rule machine.

If you post a screenshot of your current rule, that would probably give you the best suggestions. But it sounds like you're asking if a trigger can be restricted to just specific times. That answer is no, but it's (usually--again,, depending on your actions) an easy problem to overcome: any event matching a trigger will, by the definition of Rule Machine triggers, cause the actions to run. But in the actions, you have lots of options to restrict things based on any criteria, not necessarily even one related to the trigger, by way of conditional actions (IFs and whatnot).