Abandoned cart email

I bought one, but I have to give a recommendation:

Please don't have full name and address as a requirement to see the extreme shipping prices, and hence full price of the product. (Country should be good enough for shipping estimates)
Especially when you then send an E-mail using that name saying "Hi NAME You left items in your cart"
..that is both making your prices way less transparent and misuse of data.
I put in a name to see the shipping prices, not to get advertising.
To be honest that is also a reason for me to delay the purchase.

In the EU at least it is illegal to use data for other purposes than what it was stated.
and I did not sign up for advertising, I just checked prices and was just about to buy it.
So while I look forward to the Hubitat arriving, I am worried about what data you are keeping in your databases and systems, since it seems like you use the shipping information for personalised advertising.

I'm no GDPR expert, but doesn't sound like misuse of data to inform you on purchase status during a purchase process. If you received emails outside that process that seems more like it would fit your comment.

Did you have a specific statement in the GDPR that applies to this? Genuinely curious.

1 Like

I have received those types of emails from various sites, so I started to put fake information and a random address in my area to check shipping rates.

1 Like

Sure, I work with GDPR at my job, so I can indeed give details.
An issue with giving information is that it creates culpability and some perceive it as hostile to quote law, so not my first choice, but since you ask:
First point is consent, where Recital 32 makes it very clear that consent has to be:
Given freely
Not unnecessarily disruptive
For each specific purpose
and:
Silence is not consent