2 questions. One RM, one physical

I’m working on a motion rule for my kitchen, and have 2 questions:

1. Would it make a difference if I mounted the motion sensor upside down (could improve WAF.
  2. What does cancelabke mean? How would I use it?

Here is the current rule. Seems to work ok. But can I refine it better?

It might. If turning it upside down changes the orientation of the sensor’s field of view, for example. Possibly more of a potential issue for a PIR sensor than a mmWave sensor? But I have no personal experience with mmWave sensors.

Bottom line is it depends on the sensor, though.

Without looking at the box, I'm pretty sure it is PIR. It's an Aqara P1 motion sensor.

Looks like you are using motion active as the condition for the trigger, but it's motion on the same sensor -- I don't making that trigger conditional in that manner is helping anything (and could potentially impede trigger, depending on the reaction timing)

So take the condition out?

I would, but if it works OK, it's up to you... I just can't think of any positive for keeping it in there, but maybe I'm not considering something.

I just always try to keep my rules as simple as possible -- I only add redundancy / shore-it-up elements if performance deems such a thing necessary. Otherwise, keep it as "light" as I possibly can.

EDIT - I don't use any conditional triggers, but based on pic above, it looks like you'd need to remove something in the trigger there that's currently looking for a condition (ONLY IF part).

Look better? Still not sure its working as intended.

Hard to weigh in on that without knowing what’s intended or why you don’t think it’s doing what you had in mind.

I think it looks good. If there are performance issues, I'd look at the motion sensor logs to confirm whether or not it's reacting as hoped (timely etc).

Seems like a straightforward enough rule.