Zooz Zen21 switch - Wiring and setup questions

I'm new to Hubitat and HA in general. I've got a Zen25, which has 2 Zwave outlets. I was able to add it to my HE without any issues and seem to be able to control it. I'm starting out really simple. The goal is to control mine and my wife's bedside lamps that are mounted to the wall, 1 on each side of the bed, and just plug into an outlet under the bed.

In the bedroom, there are 2 light switches when you walk into the room. When we bought the house, 1 controlled the fan and one controlled the fan light. We have since replaced the fan with a unit that is controlled via a RF remote. So the unit as a whole is either powered or not, so it only needed to be wired to 1 of the 2 switches. The second switch currently does nothing. This is where the Zen21 comes in.

I've been told that a scene controller would be better for this, and maybe that's true, but I haven't been able to find one that I like and that I think my wife would find acceptable. Maybe at some point in the future I'll get one and move this switch somewhere else. We'll see. But the idea is to have 1 switch that controls the fan and another switch to control the lamps.

1. Since all this switch is doing is sending commands to the plug, how should I wire it? Should I just cap the load wire off and leave it behind the switch? Just wire in the line and neutral? I'm assuming this is the correct answer, but I'm not really sure.

2. I want to set it up so that a single tap turns on 1 of the plugs and a double tap turns on both of the plugs. Off will turn off both. I assume this will be fairly easy to setup in HE, but since I've never set anything up like this before, I'm not sure how it would be done. Would I setup something using rule manager?