Would Hubitat be a good choice?

I'm a 61-year-old former programmer with no home automation experience.

My partner is disabled and mostly confined to bed. I'm home most of the time, but we've been thinking about what would happen if she needed to let someone in the front door when I'm not home.

The obvious answer seems to be a smart lock. At present, my top choices are the Schlage Encode and the Schlage Connect (Zigbee version) plus a Hubitat Elevation.

We do have a Kuna porch lamp with a camera. As far as I can tell, it can't work in any useful way with anything else, and it's cloud-dependent (which sometimes manifests as very slow response or complete failure, even when our Internet connection is working). That's a type of mistake I'd like to avoid making again: buying something that's easy at startup, but is limited by what the company that controls it has bothered (or chosen) to make possible. (In the case of Kuna, for example, it's clear that one reason local recording is impossible is that the company that makes it wants to sell monthly cloud service subscriptions.)

I know the Encode would be simpler to set up, but I suspect it's cloud-dependent (though I haven't found a definite statement as to whether it connects locally to apps running on devices connected to the same LAN), and I fear I would be boxing myself in as far as future expansion... or at least missing out on a good start.

Things we might want to add include:

• A remote button to operate the lock (preferably with a status light showing whether it is locked or unlocked).

• A remote button (either separate or combined with the other buttons) that could trigger an alarm or a siren to alert me that my partner needs help, even if she can't call out loudly enough that I can hear her wherever I am in the house.

• A remote button (either separate or combined with the other buttons) that could turn on the overhead lights in the kitchen.