Why doesn't this (Day of Week) Trigger work?

I created a rule to turn up the heat and fade up a lamp each morning. I used the Day of Week trigger and set it to one time for weekdays and a later time for weekends. The only condition on the rule is that either of two people are present, my wife or myself. For reasons I have not been able to determine the rule is not triggering.

If I activate the rule manually from the rule screen the actions work correctly. However, it is not responding to the Day of Week trigger. When I look in the event log it shows the rule having worked one time yesterday when I added a switch trigger to test it. But it will not trigger based on day and time.

I'm new to HE and RM so I'm not sure I have the rule setup correctly, and if so, how best to trouble shoot it. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
Tom G.

I would start by eliminating the weekend part of your trigger, and see if it works. Just change the time to a few minutes in the future. There was someone on here about a month ago with a similir problem, the fix was to seperate it into 2 rules, weekday and week end. You trigger may be looking for both events to be true and they never will be.

1 Like

Dump your trigger events and use trigger Periodic Schedule "every weekday at hh:mm pm" and it should work - at least it does on my C7 with current platform. The triggers you have set up do NOT work on my C7.

2 Likes

After you modify your rule, click "update rule", then click on the gear * at the upper right of page. Scroll to the bottom of the "settings page" and look for a scheduled task like this:

That seems to have done the trick! THANKS!

Is there a known bug in the Day of week trigger or did you come across it thru experimentation? I searched the forum and didn't find anything on it.

Now to push the envelope and see if I can add a second periodic trigger for the weekend or if I need to create a second rule...