When should I send events .. and what do they actually do

Background .. I've never used ST so this is totally new to me!
When I write a Virtual Device .. e.g. a "Momentary" , or Switch, etc
when should I send events?
Should I take care with the stateChanged?
how do I know what "name: " and "value:" I should use in the sendEvent?

Obviously I'm a noob! Where would I find all this clearly explained, docs.hubitat.com is very nearly(but not quite) useless!

1 Like

There is no single right answer to this.

You should, based on the functionality of the device you are making a driver for, send State Change events when the state changes on your device...

For a switch, the ON/OFF state change would clearly be a state change. For a button, the button press is clearly a state change (in my opinion, I've seen another developer on here have the opposite opinion).

For name and value I typically copy them from a similar device instead of inventing my own. :smile:

It also adds an entry in the device or app event log. Very useful.

sendEvents should occur when something happens to change the state of the attribute in question.
The "name" of the attribute is just that..the attribute name. The value depends on the attribute. Some have enumerated options (eg on or off) other could be a value range (eg 1..100). Custom attributes could be anything your heart desires.

A good place to start is the capabilities list. Attributes are generally attached to a capability. See the list below that shows their respective attributes and values options.

https://docs.hubitat.com/index.php?title=Driver_Capability_List

There are many built in Virtual Drivers that cover a lot of the needed options so you may not need to create your own.
Virtual Switch
Virtual Contact Sensor
etc.

Also you can make a virtual momentary switch by creating a Virtual Switch and enabling the "autoOff" preference.