UK Specific - NEWBIE - Tips and Help

Hello All,

I hope everyone is well and safe in these challenging times,

I bought a hue light system during Black Friday and the home automation bug started to grow. I would love to go further in this and go 99% local with hubitat. :slight_smile: It seems a great community!

I’m a software engineer, but have 0 experience in electronics, sensors or robotics.

I am have been reading these forums and online articles and I can grasp some concepts and stuff, but I am feeling overwhelmed on tech details and bugs and things that work or not, and country specific things. So I would like to start a post so that the community could help me make sense of UK specifics and start with the right sensors...

1. I read when you buy sensors you can’t buy anything you can find in internet because it needs to be compatible with your country frequencies. How can I know the ones for uk? What is safe to buy in eBay US or Amazon US? I find most of the sensors are American and we have very few alternatives in the uk market. I found this uk specific shop (Vesternet) with zwave and zigbee devices that seems nice, but expensive. Where do other uk users buy?

2. I would like temperature, humidity and motion/presence detection in 3/4 rooms of the flat. What do you recommend in uk? The above shop has Aotec multi sensor 6 & Aotec trisensor, but they cost GBP45+. Any tips?