Turn Lights off - delay then turn lights on

I'm not sure where to put this....

I'm new to the rules engine and I wanted to Turn two lights off wait 2 seconds then turn lights on by pushing a button and or asking Alexa.

So it would be like this.(I want 2 Options)

1. Push button -- Turn 2 lights off -- delay 2 seconds -- Turn the same 2 lights on
  2. Alexa turn on lights -- Turn 2 lights off -- delay 2 seconds -- Turn the same 2 lights on

Would this be done in Rule machine or Simple lighting.
Can you show me how to set this up?

Any help would be great!

Thanks,
-Mike

Why would you want to turn the lights off for 2 seconds and turn them back on again?

Reset Flood lights

1 Like

What do you mean reset flood flights? Why do they have to be reset?

If you turn the lights off and on real quick, the lights will stay on until you use the 2 second feature on all floods.

If you shut the flood light for 2 seconds, delay, turn it on- when it turns on the LIGHTS bulbs will be off-- meaning ready for motion detection

1 Like

Because you want to say ā€œturn onā€ this makes it tricky. But you can solve this by creating a virtual switch and use the auto off feature of 2s. Then create a rule that will follow the state of this switch. If this switch is on, turn off your physical switch and when off turn it back on. Then setup your button to also turn on this same virtual switch. No need for toggle since the auto off feature will take care if it.

One of my apps ā€˜Flasherā€™ will do this for you.
You can trigger off a button and set the number of flashes and the duration (inc time between flashes)
You can also trigger off a virtual switch controlled by Alexa - just create a virtual and set the auto off for 1/2 sec or something.

With Flasher, you can start with the lights on or off - configuable

Andy

Been there, I'd make it "3 seconds" to be on the safe side.

Cobra, are your apps hosted over the internet, or run locally ?

ALL my apps run on the HE hub.