Thermostat for nursery

Last night was our little guy’s first night in his own room, and while I set Ecobee to use the Ecobee sensor in his room and maintain 68F, we were woken up to cries in the middle of the night, most likely due to the temp in his room climbing up to 74F.

The Ecobee app was showing 67-68 and the heater was still pumping hot air. His room his small so you can imagine how quickly it heated up.

I think the problem is the sensor doesn’t report back to Ecobee often enough. So my question is can you recommend an alternative solution? Perhaps using a z-wave thermostat that reports back every minute — I realize the affect on battery but it’s a necessary trade off.

my iris motion sensors report temp pretty quickly, so to my smart things multipurpose sensors.

I assume you are using a remote sensor. If so are you averaging it with the ecobee local sensor or is it controlling only from the remote?

I've been using an ecobee controlled by only the remote for about 2 years. I've had no issues.

I have a schedule running for “Sleep” which has the Ecobee using the remote sensor. It doesn’t mix the readings when “Sleep” is running.

Is this a new ecobee? By that I mean has it worked ok elsewhere?

Ecobee app was showing 67-68 and the heater was still pumping hot air.

Could you see the device display? Did it agree with the app or was it different? I've never used the app for control. The ecobee site is too unreliable.

I would consider turning off the app and setting the thermostat display to 68 before you but the little one to bed.

1 Like

Yup I verified on the display. The problem is that when the room cools below 68 and triggers the Ecobee to turn the heater on, the room heats up very quickly. It’s not a very large room and the door is closed. If the remote sensor would report back every minute or two, that would be fine. But it seems like it takes five minutes or so, and in that time the room can heat up 5+ degrees.