Sylvania/Osram Lightify Bulb Groups

Has there been any progress in getting groups of the Sylvania/Osram Lightify bulbs to use the [start level change] and [stop level change] state variables that are available for the individual bulbs? I have tried to do this by addressing multiple bulbs individually, instead of as a group, and the result is (at best) popcorn effects.

What do you mean? This feature isn't available for group devices because there's no way to know if the group contains devices that support it. Plus, how are you going to do this for a group of devices all at the same time? The messaging would be a nightmare!

Sorry, but I'm a bit of a novice here. I simply made an assumption that because zigbee devices supported group messenging for the on-off commands, that the other state variables could be handled in the same way. I gather from what you say that it simply isn't so.

Zigbee group messaging basically floods your network with commands for the devices to get them to come on at the same time. If you were going to try and start/stop level change it would need to flood your network with messages over and over and over. Also, that's only for zigbee devices. Z-wave devices don't do that. So, when you "stop level change" which devices level should all the devices go to? They all might not be at the exact same level at that particular moment. It's a lot more complicated than what it appears.

Thanks for the explanation.

Zigbee Group commands are multicast, clasifying them as "flooding" your network is misleading...
Devices that are not a member of the given group just ignore the command, just as they would ignore any other command not destined for them.
1 group command is much more efficient than 20 individual commands sent at the same time.

Start/stop level change are two separate commands only issued once, they are not issued while a bulb is in transition.