Sonos Speakers Local MP3s?

I am brand new to hubitat. After a rough start and a little help, I was able to connect a device and send texts to my android when a contact is open. Yaaay!

I was reading about having a Sonos speaker play local MP3s in response to triggers.

Does this work with any Sonos speaker? Will it work with any smart speaker? (noticed these are pricey)

Thanks.

You can use Alexa or Google for TTS as well...

Welcome to Hubitat!

Yup. Even the cheapest one - sold by Ikea. It is about $100.

2 Likes

Am I correct that the Sonos integration would be local while Google & Alexa would be cloud dependent?

Cómo reproduces un sonido MP3 en Alexa??

I recently added an Ecolink Z-wave chime/siren to my system.

http://amazon.com/Ecolink-Enabled-Security-Intruder-ISZW7-ECO/dp/B099CS76K3/

The device comes with built-in chimes and siren alerts, but the device comes with a microSD card slot. You can install custom mp3 files on a inexpensive microSD card and then play them as an alternative to the defaults. The only caveat is that the sound slots allocated to default siren sounds will play loudly and repeatedly anything you assign to those slots. You activate the sounds by selecting the number of the sound. All sounds need to be named with an integer number followed by the description. For example "32_garage door open". You would then play that sound by using the command Play Sound 32.

In my experience, SONOS doesn't work well "locally". If the internet is down, getting them to do anything has been troublesome (for me).

Hopefully this is no longer true, and someone will chime in and correct me!

S.

1 Like

Thanks! :slight_smile: Looking for local and don't want to talk to the speaker, only send commands from the hubitat to it to play a local MP3.

Yippee! Thanks! :grin:

1 Like

Thanks! :slight_smile:

Yes, let's hope. Fingers crossed!

1 Like

With my speakers blocked from using the internet, I could still do the following: