Simple Automation Rule vs Motion and Mode Lighting

Hi folks

I’m still learning as I transition off ST. I had a pretty extensive setup of CoRE and Rule Machine (yep) rules on ST to automate my lights pretty much ignoring mode changes. I feel like HE leans pretty heavily on modes to set up lighting, though.

I’m curious: is there a preferred method for changing lighting with mode changes? As always, there are many ways to do it, but two obvious choices are to use Simple Automation Rules or Motion and Mode Lighting to trigger on mode changes and set the lights accordingly.

Is there a recommended method?

Thanks!

Other than keep it simple whenever possible it’s pretty much open. The apps tend to be less work, but if you’re a rule person HE does those well also. Again most start with the “Simple” version and move to RM or webCore, but it really comes down to what you’re comfortable with - performance wise they all seem to be very close, so...

You don't have to use modes at all, but it sure simplifies lots of lighting and presence related automations.

Without using modes, you might have to continually set "between X time and Y time" every time you write a rule, or use Simple Lighting or Motion Lighting. Also, with things like Motion Lighting you can have different dimming levels per mode. Bright certain times of day, dim in others.

You would also have to somehow find a way to integrate presence into those apps as you likely don't want lights or certain things happening when you are not at home.

With modes, it is a central location to set (typically) sunrise to sunset, sunset to sunrise, and home vs away. Some also use a do not disturb/sleep/night mode so particular things do or do not work while everyone is asleep.