Simple And Condition for trigger

I'm new to HE making the transition from ST and so far it's been great. I'm having one problem trying to figure out how to get one thing to happen that I'm sure is more about my lack of HE knowledge.

I have a foye with a door and sensor on each end. The concept is when you open either door the light goes to 100% and when BOTH are closed it returns to 5%

From what I can see in RE the issue seems to be an OR statement instead of an AND statement which I have not been able to figure out how to change. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Triggers cannot be AND because that would require that both triggers happen simultaneously and that is virtually impossible. It's a common misunderstanding that many of us, incl. myself, have made. Instead, your trigger is that either door changes.

Then, in Actions, you have to use a conditional that if Door A OR Door B is open, then lights go on 100%
If Door A AND Door B are closed, then light goes on at 5%.

3 Likes

You may also want to look at the built in lighting apps to start with, if you haven't already

3 Likes

That was the solution, it works perfectly now. I guess it's a question of where all the buttons and switches are.
Thanks for all of your help.

Does this mean that there is no possibility to block/allow a rule trigger at a specific MODE (home/away..) or even a semi-static variable ???

How is this acceptable? This minimal functionality for home automation! What am I missing?

Cheers, Ronald (fairly new to HE after transition from ST)

Technically, you won't be blocking the trigger, you are blocking/allowing actions based on a conditional IF statement.

So, for example,your Trigger is that motion is detected and under Actions, you start with a conditional of If Mode is Home, turn on Front Porch Light.

1 Like

This rule would looks something like this

Trigger: door1 or door2 open

Turn light to 100%
Wait for condition door1, door2 all closed
Turn light 5%

Appreciate your reply.