Setting my expectations for the dashboard

I’m a recent concert from Wink2 which I had for years, very excited to get started customizing and setting things up.

I’ve started to read a lot about dashboard customization but I wanted to make sure I properly set my expectations. I’m a developer and have a pretty high working knowledge of css, so I guess I’m just wondering if I should eventually be able to get this to look exactly how I want.

I’ve seen some simple but more fisher price style dashboards and then some really slick professional looking ones, mostly from HA dashboards. Is it possible to achieve something similar to those HA dashboards (found my doing a google image search)

You might find this thread entertaining:

Hubitat Dashboard does provide you with a way to specify custom CSS. Some people use this to tweak things they don't like or add customizations that they do like. I rarely use dashboards in the first place and am OK with the defaults for pretty much everything, but there are some threads where you can find neat things people have done with this or other customization you can do:

But I'm not sure what exact Home Assistant dashboard features you're looking to replicate. If you like them that much, you might have an easier time just exposing your Hubitat devices to Home Assistant via a community integration--then you can use the real thing. :slight_smile: But you can do a lot with the built-in options if you know how, too.

1 Like

Thank you I’ll look through those threads. I haven’t dug in enough yet to know exactly what I’m trying to do, and I guess I’m not looking at specific types of features but just the cleaner look and feel with background images, opacity, tile images, etc. I think I’m talking more styling than actual features. I’m a little OCD about design stuff, unfortunately I can’t turn off that part of my brain.

I came from ActionTiles (ST) as a beta tester for years.