Sensor question

I am new to the Hubitat platform and would like to expand by adding sensors to all of my doors. I have 2 standard doors and 1 sliding glass door I would like to get standard open/close sensors for. Does anyone have recommendations?

TIA

First question are you looking for zigbee or Z-Wave?
If your looking for Z-Wave I used these for my Daughter’s sliding glass door and standard door.
Pro: uses standard AAA batteries.
Con: it’s on the larger size.

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=24259

1 Like

z-wave, thanks for the suggestion, I will check it out

I use ecolink.

But check out the iris 2 contact sensors off of eBay. There zigbee.

1 Like

I’ve got some Dome and Fibaro sensors which work great.
The Dome were super easy to pair and use whereas the Fibaro ones were a little trickier BUT the Fibaro ones have the option to add temperature sensors which I also use.

1 Like

All of my door and window sensors are Ring branded and joined to a Ring Alarm and then integrated into Hubitat via a community integration. I've been happy with the sensors and their battery life so far.

If @SmartHomePrimer finds this thread (of course he will now that I've tagged him) he will tell you this is the way to go. He prefers to keep security offloaded from automation and just have the automation be aware of what's going on with the security system with each system having a purpose and being very good at it.

Whatever. :stuck_out_tongue: I did it for a different reason... I got most of the Ring sensors on the really cheap. I've had some success joining some of the Ring devices directly to HE but I haven't tried the contact sensors or motion devices yet. I think others have and you should be able to find evidence of whether or not it works on these forums.