Rule machine to open light at sunset

Hi!

I'm new with Hubitat and Rule machine. I want to open my living room light 30 minutes before sunset and close it at 22h. I made this rule and it doesn't work.

Select Trigger Events
When time is Sunset-30 minutes

Select Actions to Run
On: Prise Salon Wait for events: When time is 22:00 Off: Prise Salon

Can anyone tell me what is wrong with my rule?

Please help me!
Dandoy70

There are people better placed than me to help with RM, but I use it a little.... How is the rule not working? Is it not firing at all?

That looks good to me, so I'm not sure what would be going wrong. Turning on logging (trigger and action logging, at least) would tell you what RM thinks it's doing so would give you something to look back on to confirm whether it actually ran and what it tried to do.

As an aside, you don't really need Rule Machine for this; Simple Automation Rules is easier to set up and would work here, too. (I like to suggest the simplest tool for the job.) But it still doesn't explain this. :thinking:

Not sure about wait for events, however this works for me: (you can change the off to a fixed time)

Yes, It doesn't fire at all.

I tried to turn the light on at a certain time and close at a certain time and it worked. But with this, it doesn't work at all.

I haven't done anything myself that uses the sunrise / sunset options. How are they determined? Do you configure them somewhere, or does HE pick them up automatically?

That's a good thing to consider! I forgot to ask:

In Settings > Location and Modes, make sure your hub location is set correctly. The actual latitude and longitude or, equivalently, on-map location, are what determines this (the postal code may get you somewhere close but isn't ultimately used) and, together with your "Time Zone" setting (which you should also check) is what Hubitat uses to calculate sunrise and sunset times.