Rule Machine extreme basics

Good afternoon all,

I'm an extreme novice when it comes to Rule Machine, but I want to try creating some stuff. I'm wondering if there is a document, book, online tutorial that really starts from the very beginning of creating rules in RM 4. And I do mean the VERY beginning! Like- to create this rule you click this, then click that, then click here, etc

Does something like that exist?

In particular, I would like a rule that says:
If it's sunset AND either garage door A, B, C or D is open AND there's no motion in the garage
THEN flash a light inside to remind me to close the door. I'm sure that can be done pretty easily
by someone that knows what they're doing, but not so much for me!

Thanks for your help
Stan

This link takes you to the app section of the documentation.
Scroll down for the various iterations of RM.

https://docs.hubitat.com/index.php?title=Hubitat_Elevation_Documentation#App_Documentation

Well you certainly have a nice home with four garage doors! I don't even have a garage! :wink:

There isn't step by step doc on RM in the same way that there are for other apps at this point. RM has been evolving rapidly as the platform has grown in leap and bounds. This is likely the reason the majority of RM documentation has been via posts and community help.

Here's the initial post on the Rule Machine 4 release

What you want to do isn't difficult, but to be honest, I'm not sure about the flash lights part. I know that not all lights support flash, and that is your first challenge. Second, in RM 4, I'm not positive about how to stop the lights flashing when the condition is false. It would probably be

Condition Sunset
IF contact sensor(s) open and motion sensors(s) inactive -> Then Resume Rule and Flash light(s), ELSE Pause Rule -> End IF

You stop flashing by turning the lights off. Pausing the rule is not a good plan, and can't be done by a rule to itself.

1 Like