Overnight lights

I have a legacy rule that turns on several outside lights at dusk, off at 11pm, on at 5:30, and off again at dawn. I can't even see how to get play off this in the new rule 5.0. What happened to the options to turn things off again based upon rule conditions?

Here is an RM5.0 rule I use to do just that.
Change the times accordingly.

Summary

I see that. Thanks. But doesn't it add overhead to the Rule Machine to keep the rule running for hours during the delays? I have a few of these type rules (like a fan when it's too hot, etc) and don't want to have the Hub really slow down.

I am not an expert, but my understanding is that all it does is setup a subscription to an event, condition, etc. When it's waiting for that it isn't really running in the sense that it is doing anything. I have lot's of rules that do similar things to the above posted one, that might wait for hours for something to happen. My hub seems to run just fine.

1 Like

No, the "Wait" in this rule creates a subscription to the event, as @kyroha suspects above. The rule goes to sleep, then will wake when that event (sunrise, in this case) happens and continue with the next action. (So, for example, it does not mindlessly "spin" and constantly check whether the time is sunrise.)

This isn't a "Delay" per se (if we take that term to mean this specific Rule Machine action, which is called that), but delays work similarly: they create a scheduled job for whatever time in the future, then either wait for that (if using a standalone "Delay" action) or continue with the next action in the list (if using the "delay" option on a particular action).