Newby Problems

I purchased a GE Indoor/Outdoor Smart Switch before I realized I needed a Z-Wave hub. So that's where Hubitat entered my life. I'm just starting to learn the system and the rules. All I want is for the hub to turn on my pump at sunrise and off at sunset. I've entered a rule machine and it all it did was cut if off and not back on in the morning. So I'm currently trying the Simple Automation Rule which is easy to set up. However, this morning it didn't turn on. Am I missing something?? I saw a video where it advised to just turned on my logging so I did. Maybe that will work? Maybe not. Any advise or steps anyone can share would be greatly appreciated. I'm not even looking at conditions...just turn on...turn off. Thanks in advance.

How far is the hub from your outdoor outlet?

I'm terrible with guessing distance but if I'm thinking between 200-300 feet.

Go to devices on the left, find your switch. Can you turn the switch on and off. Does the pump go on and off?

Go to logs on the left and post a screenshot of you log at the time the pump was to turn on.

Yes..I can turn off and on from my phone. Even turns off at time during the rule. Not consistent.

Whoa. Yeah that is probably your problem. I would say without some repeating device you are going to have issues with a device that far (until zwave LR and devices come out). I stretch it every Christmas with my outdoor plug on my neighbors house maybe < 100' away from my garage.

1 Like

Ahhh...I have a plug/repeater arriving tomorrow. I'll see if that works.

I have several devices in the garage, detached, about 6' from the house and a repeater on the same wall inside the house seemed to help greatly with those in garage devices between two walls and getting to my neighbors during Christmas to power his outdoor lights (he's 85) :slight_smile:

Ha! I thought at first you were "borrowing" juice from your neighbor for your lights.

HAHA, yeah that would be a pretty crappy thing to do!