Newbie rule machine question - getting a notification sound playing on Google Speakers

Hi all,
I'm quite new to Hubitat but got some simple rules going with my motion sensors etc. So far, I feel that a lot of community posts have helped out well, but this one I just don't get how to do:
When a motion sensor is triggered, I want a sound to be played at my kitchen speakers that are Google Nest Audio speakers. The trigger events parts is not a problem. I have also managed to successfully trigger a TTS on my Nest Audio spekers when the motion sensor triggers, but how do I get it to play sound, a song or similar? I have seen posts about actuator something and also read threads that have the similar type of question, but I just don't get it. Thanks in advance for any help!

Hi @wretlund, and welcome to the community!

From your post, I gather that you have setup Ā« ChromeCast Integration (Beta) Ā» to use Google Nest as a sound/speech device.

First, you will need to upload a sound that you want played on your Nest device (.mp3) file. You can do this from the settings menu:

Then, in Rule Machine, you need to create a new rule to trigger on motion active. The action should then be something like this:

The end result should look like this. Note that a .mp3 file from an online source should also work, but I havenā€™t tried it.

Let me know if it works for you, or if you need more help setting it up!

3 Likes

So I finally got around to test this now. It worked like a charm. Thanks Sebastien.

For anybody that wants to do the same thing and sees this post: the one thing that you may "miss" in the instructuons, is that you need to use the parameter type string and then in the parameter insert the URL.

4 Likes

Hey folks;

These instuctions did work. However, I would like to suggest that this is such a trivial and common action to use... play a sound - that it should really be available under the actions in Basic Rules.