Need guide for Alexacookie.js Implementation

Hey Guys,

Trying in vain to follow both forks of the Alexa/Hubitat voice project and finally have everything ready to go including a spare Pi I had laying around. The project gives 3 options for getting the cookie and I'm obviously trying to go the Pi route. The fork that is supposed to explain the process start to finish is clearly an expert who makes many assumptions that have complicated that process for me at least to the point where I'm about to beat puppies...

The Grabriel instructions referenced in the most current readme are what I'm trying to follow but he assumes you know how to setup a node.js server which I do not. I don't use my Pi for such things so I have zero experience in that area and his referral to the web as a source might as well tie chicken around my neck and throw me in a Florida swamp because those resources he references are almost as bad as his documentation.

That said is there someone with a start to finish guide thats complete for implementing this on a Pi that can help because I have just spent the past 12n hours beating my head against a wall trying to walk through all the guys assumptions.

Thaks!!

If you're just looking to know how to install node to your pi there is a very good tool to use. You can find it here.

I think I have that part down but thanks I love this tool as well just in case I fubarred it. My problem is the next steps, okay so node.js is installed....what next step by step. I use my Pi's for something totally different so I have no experience with part of the Pi world. Thanks!

What step are you stuck on then?

unpacking the zip...to where? And then what.... I assume there is a virtual server somewhere now where these files need to actually goto but where eludes me. Remember you guys are acustomed to setting up servers within the Pi environment I am not....I live in a completely different world. (pi speaking lol)

I get it....you've said that many, many times now.