My Great Migration Experience -> Away from ST

I posted this elsewhere as a comment, but thought it might be relevant to share here.

I decided to move away from ST, wasn't happy about it.
Couldn't avoid it much longer, there were too many things that didn't work, and support was no help at all. The latest message from Samsung was, unplug your hub for 10 minutes and let us know (that was the tier 2 person). Of course I had already done that with the Tier 1 person.
Every single generation 1 Zwave device that I have stopped working, or was burned out. Upon inspection, the capacitors blew up. Not on one, as could be expected, but rather on 4 within a space of 10 days. SmartThings still said they were unavailable, before and after failure.
I was a Vera beta user, bought Wayne Dalton and Intermatic Home Settings devices when introduced, so I have been playing around with this stuff for literally 15 years.
For the last month now, I have tried everything.
I fired up my Vera plus, one of three Vera's in the house. I still have my Vera 1 and 2, still had the same issues.
Many people recommend Home Assistant, but I did not enjoy the container / MQTT experience, as well as many other things. I work in software, but I'm not a developer, there is a reason.
I tried OpenHAB, Domoticz, and HomeSeer, too. I tried anything I could get my hands on, Win 10 versions, RPi versions, Synology NAS versions. All had their issues.

I have flashed my little RPi so many times that it is complaining. :wink:

I really wanted HomeSeer to work, as it was the most broadly compatible, plug and play option it seemed. Couldn't get reliable Zwave add/remove with their usb stick , or the ZooZ, tried on both RPi and Win10, reached out to support, no luck. I finally gave up with them.

I ended up going with Hubitat after all this experimentation and deserved familial verbal abuse (due to lack of function, many things in the house have been designed around automation).