Metering in Rule Machine?

Is there a way to add metering to a Rule Machine rule? I have a rule that turns on/off about a dozen devices and it sometimes skips one. I know I can do this in groups but need to have different dim levels.

Yes, but it's only available for custom actions. (You can use that for this, too--just use the on() or off() commands or whatever you need.)

Here's an example:

3 Likes

I'm a newbie and can't find where to set this or get to this screen. When I select Create Conditions I get a pull down menu where that selection doesn't exist.

In @bertabcd1234's example he's using a custom action... you're looking at the conditions dropdown.

Try this instead...

Is it possible to just create a scene out of those 12 devices and use metering in the scene? That might be easier.

1 Like

You shouldn't be in "Manage or create conditions. " This is an action, and you should choose Set Variable, Mode or File, Run Custom Action > Run Custom Action from the menus at the top (on the "Select actions to run" page where you normally add actions) in order to get here.

It will eventually ask you to choose a capability (similar to your screenshot, but not the same place); anything the device supports would work--it's just a way to filter the list of devices, basically--but "Switch" would be a logical choice.

EDIT: And I guess with your case of different dim levels, you'd really want the setLevel() command rather than on/off, and I'm not really sure how metering will help if you need different levels for each--you'd need separate commands for each level, so regular actions with delays between would work just as well. (But I suppose this would help if you have some grouped together, i.e., at the same level, and so not everything needs to be a separate action.) Or you might consider a scene, as suggested above, then just activate that. Scenes have metering.

1 Like