Matter is a Disaster?

Well so far there have been a few video's on YouTube this week demonstrating that Matter still isn't ready for prime time. Automate Your Life's video is below, but also Mr. Hibbert did his review and although not as in-depth does show the many hoops one has to jump though to get a device working:

7 Likes

Dang! Just watched the whole thing. Sounds about as expected for a new "standard" that everyone involved has to live up to for it to work. If something breaks, is it because Apple or Google had a problem? Or is the cheap Chinese manufacturer of the device and firmware? Or is it the discount dashboard app that they licensed? Or is it multiple at once? No way to know!

I've been a software developer for more than 20 years, and I started to choke when he said the api integrations are more like a "web". If there's ANYTHING I've learned, it's that single-path pipelines are vastly more reliable.

No, I think I'll be sticking with my z-wave and zigbee stuff for a while. My debugging is purely linear and deterministic:

1. Pair the device to Hubitat. Can I see and control it now?
  2. Expose it via MakerApi. Did my Homebridge plugin find it and understand it? Check that it showed up in Apple's Home app, and as the right accessory type.
  3. Expose it via the Hubitat Alexa integration. Check that the Alexa app found it, and recognized its type.

It's straight lines, with visibility at every step. Maybe that's the worst part of what I saw in the video. There is NO WAY to know what is going on at any point, and no indication why things are failing in a probabilistic way. This is a recipe for turning people away from home automation.

10 Likes

"A camel is a horse designed by committee"

10 Likes

Sounds about as expected for a new "standard" that everyone involved has to live up to for it to work.