Just starting with Hubitat

Hello. I’m new to home automation. My Hubitat will arrive in a few days. I’d like to start with garage door and lights automation.

Garage doors

I have 2 of them and planning to implement this solution Current Recommend Garage Door Opener/Closer youtube video posted by @iskren.p.petkov

What is the best place to buy all pieces needed for this project? In video price for peanut plug is $10. Lowest price that I found at amazon is $15. Link to Door/window switch posted at YouTube is no longer available. What will you suggest to purchase and where?

Light switch
After reading https://community.hubitat.com/t/best-switches-and-dimmers-reliability-connectivity-most-important/9598/2 for light switch I decided to go with GE/Jasco light switch. I found this from amazon GE 46201 Enbrighten Z-Wave Plus Smart Light https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07RRBT6W5/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_5bU2DbBXVGG7F Is a good one?

So depending on your garage open/close sensors can have problems, my garage door and rails were magnetic and having my contact sensor madly switching between open and close.

Prices are different than in the video. Tilt sensors are on sale now:

Samsung SmartThings Multipurpose Sensor [GP-U999SJVLAAA] Door & Window Sensor - Zigbee - White https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07F956F3B/ref=cm_sw_r_other_apa_i_h3V2DbGFF3DMT

For $17 black Friday

1 Like

@helene7t7 thanks, will take a look!

Thank you for the questions @Strom. Best of luck with the home automation. It will make you feel definitely empowered and feeling that sky is the limit when it comes to it. Of course it comes with its own set of challenges.
First here is some advice on setups/option:

• in general I and I think the whole community feels that anything zigbee is better than z-wave in setting up and reliability