IR sender

I'm new to Hubitat and am just starting to transfer devices over from my existing Vera Plus system. I currently have a Keene IR anywhere TCP/IP system for sending IR signals to my A/V system. Vera has an app that sends commands to it and it works very well, although it was complicated to set up. Ideally I would have liked to use it again with Hubitat but I've just discovered that Keene have gone bust so I don't know how likely that is now.

So the question is what are people using as an IR sender that plays nicely with Hubitat?

1 Like

I think the most common way to do this is with the Harmony Hub/Remote. There is no "official" integration yet but there are some great hacks.

This is the one I'm using:

But as I don't have Smartthings to copy an API key over from it doesn't sound like I could get that to work, unless I'm missing something.

I have a harmony and then I have one of these RM remotes. I find I rather like the broadlink better. It is quite a bit simpler than harmony, but also does not control anything other than IR / RF devices. I hooked it up to node red and use a custom Alexa skill to control it.

3 Likes

How much work would it be to get Hubitat to send commands to my existing Keene LAN IR device? I have it all programmed with the IR commands I use, I basically just need Hubitat to send the same commands to the LAN that my Vera does to trigger them. Unfortunately I have no clue how any of this works! But I'm happy to do some investigation and analysis of what Vera sends if someone could point me in the right direction.

Does it respond to post/get commands? If so there is a http button driver that could be used to send one off commands.

This is copied from the Vera community where someone used this to send commands to the same unit

socket = require("socket")

local s = socket.udp()