Hubitat right for me?

Hi All,

I recently purchased my first house and I'm starting to look into home automation. I was looking into Samsung's SmartThings, but came across the Hubitat and was wondering if this can be the device for me. I'm very new to this and I'm looking forward to learning as much as I can from this community. Below are the devices I have, will be buying, and may buy in the future. I've also included what I would like to do from the dashboard. Thank you, all!

Have:

• 2 August Lock Pro 3rd Gen
  • 3 Yi Dome Cameras (May switch to Wyze)
  • 4 TP-Link Kasa Smart Plugs
  • 2 TP-Link Kasa Power Strips
  • 1 Nexx Garage Opener

Buying:

• 1 Nest or Ecobee Thermostat (Open to others)
  • 1 Ring Video Doorbell 2 (Open to others)
  • Hubitat Elevation
  • Amazon Fire HD 8

May Buy:

• Water Sensor
  • Door/Window Sensor
  • Smart Smoke/CO Detector

Abilities:

• Lock front door and garage door from dashboard (August Lock Pro 3rd Gen)
  • View security cameras from dashboard (Yi or Wyze)
  • Control thermostat from dashboard
  • Check status of doors -- locked or unlocked from dashboard (August Lock Pro 3rd Gen)
  • Check status of garage door - open or closed from dashboard (Nexx Garage Opener)
  • View location of family members from dashboard (Life360)
  • View weather from dashboard
1 Like

Welcome @xkdx! I'm relatively new to Hubitat and this is one of those YMMV questions but I'll give you my perspective. As background, I was previously using X-10 devices which, although limited, provided basic lighting automation. I'd been looking to switch to something more modern and kept hoping Wink would gain traction. I came across Hubitat and it seemed like a good fit. I'm very happy with the "switch" (although my wife thinks I've gone too far sometimes such as when the dehumidifier says it needs to be emptied via Alexa).

As far as your list above goes: