Hubitat in Europe (Croatia) - Tips

Hi!

I'm new to the home automation world. I am currently in the phase of building a new house and would like to set up all the necessary installations so that I can eventually have a smart home. I've studied various options in all of this and somehow Hubitat seems like a good option for further development and upgrades. I'm a programmer by profession, so it's no stranger to me to look for solutions and read and write codes.

I'm actually here to ask some questions that bother me. Since I am from Europe, more specifically Croatia, I am curious to know if there is anyone here from Croatia or the surrounding area. I am interested in this question because of buying the modules that are needed. Where to buy and more importantly what to buy.

What would you recommend to me that would meet my needs and ideas. How would I know how to prepare in-house installations while under construction.

What interests me is complete automation, maybe not in the first phase, but I would definitely make the preparation. Certainly for starters it would be: lights, shutters, curtains, blinds, heating, door / window sensors, motion sensors, moisture sensors and door locks.

If it were easier to figure out the space I could post pictures of the house plan, so suggest what would not be a bad thing to have without my mind. Also where to place the hub and the rest.

I'm in the UK so not ideal but at least our standards and equipment should be the same.

There are so many answers to this but the basics are:

1. Get deep boxes installed everywhere you can 35MM deep minimum.
  2. For lighting ensure that it is the switch "loop in method" that means take the live and neutral down to the switch then take the switch line and neutral to the light from there.
  3. If you have multiple switch lines and switch locations in a room spread out the light feeds (don't take them all to one box and just strappers to the others) this gives you more options and space.