Hub variables not viewable in settings

All is updated on C7 hub, but have some erratic behavior with variables. As a newbie I currently have a single variable that is used in a single Rule instance, and is used on a dashboard. Current issue is that the variable list isn’t accessible under Settings:

I get the following in the logs:
app:32022-09-11 11:13:59.275 am errorjava.lang.NullPointerException: Cannot get property 'currentVariable' on null object on line 202 (method hubVar)

That's not good. I would suggest three possible ways out of this: (1) Reboot the hub, and see if that clears it up. (2) Restore your most recent backup and see if that fixes it. If those both fail, then there are steps you can take to remove the Hub Variables app, and allow it to start over. Try the first two, and report back here, before we get into how to do that other step.

1 Like

Reboot doesn’t change result.
I’m reluctant to restore any previous version because I’ve had other issues over past couple of days; don’t want to get wordy here, It would pain me to lose the Device information and Dashboards… but I don’t have much invested in Rules, variables, etc. My issues began when I waded into doing more than just using dashboards as remote controls; all in the past few days; prior to that everything was solid.
Knowing that, would you be in favor of looking at your third solution - addressing the variable functionality directly?

In your browser, when you try to open Hub Variables, the url looks something like this:

http://192.168.0.45/installedapp/configure/25043/hubVar

Edit that URL into this (using your ip address and replacing 25043 with the number from your url)

http://192.168.0.45/installedapp/status/25043

When that page opens, at the bottom right Remove Hub Variables. Then try again to open it from Settings. Let me know...

2 Likes

That worked! I don’t understand it… but it did the trick, I think.
Thanks much!

1 Like

Premature celebration…