Help with a Couple of Errors in First Device Driver

Hi all,
After several weeks of reading and experimenting I believe I have created my first device driver. I have no previous coding experience, when I started in electronics vacuum valves were still around! But, thanks to the wealth of existing code out there, I managed to cobble together a driver for the ZConnect Garage Door Controller. This is a multi channel device available in Australia consisting of 2 binary switches and 2 binary sensors in the one package.
It joins the Z-Wave network securely as a generic device and I then apply my driver. I do it this way because if I create a mfr fingerprint it seems to hang at "initialize".
Anyway after creating the child devices I end up with this.

Everything seems to work well with the exception of two errors in the log. Firstly when I do a refresh, I get:
019-09-24 17:00:31.002 errorjava.lang.NullPointerException: null on line 277 (refresh)
Secondly, when I try operate the second switch from the parent device using the childon/off commands I get:
2019-09-24 17:01:16.843 errorjava.lang.NullPointerException: Cannot invoke method split() on null object on line 258 (childOn)
As I mentioned I have virtually no coding experience, I'm teaching myself as I go. Could I ask if someone could firstly check my coding to see why I'm getting these errors and secondly suggest any improvements I could make.
Oh, and most importantly what is the easiest way to put my code up for inspection?

Cheers,
Darren

Unfortunately, I don’t have time to check through your code as I am tied up with so much work.
However; I can give you a couple of pointers...

If you read the error messages they are actually telling you what is wrong and where to look.
The first one says look on line 277 of you code.
This line has a ‘variable’ in it which should have a value.. the error says it can’t find the value
(I.e. it is ‘null’ or nothing)