Having some issues with Monoprice Z-Wave Plus Recessed Door Sensor #15268

I have two of these recessed door sensors in my front and back doors and they were working fine with SmartThings, but after I excluded them and added them to HE, they are detected during inclusion as simply "Device" and when I switch them to Generic Z-Wave Contact Sensor, they just show up as status unknown on my dashboard. Total HE newbie here, any help?

1 Like

I found these needed to be somewhat near to the hub to include properly. It can take a good few seconds to fully initialize. Also worth trying is to put HE in exclude mode and exclude them from HE before including them. Even if they were never included on HE, it ensures the devices are excluded from everything as much as possible. Once included, you can put back in the doors, and assuming you have decent z-wave mesh, they are pretty reliable and battery life seems good.

I'm having this same issue. I've Included it and Excluded countless times within inches of my HE, it pairs as Device.

It's a brand new unit.

Are you saving it and then going to the new device and selecting the Generic Z-Wave Contact Sensor driver, saving it, and hitting the configure button on that page?

It may not be recognized because a new batch may have a slightly different "fingerprint" from the one that was used to develop the driver.

Yes, I tried that.

Then I put it up against the magnet to try to log some events - nothing registers.

Saved As DEVICE:

Saved As Generic Z-Wave Contact Sensor (strange that is still shows a Zigbee Id even though added as Z-Wave):

No Events :frowning:

I don't see what you are describing with the Zigbee ID but no matter.

Here's what that sensor Device page should look like when the device is paired and functioning (I have one outdoors on one of my gates).

When I hit Configure on the device page, I see this in the Logs:

Configure gets me a temperature to show up in the Events and as a Current State.