Groovy: What does "getLinkText(device)" do?

I'm modifying a driver that has this code in it (life360) and I have no idea where this method comes from:

I'm also very new to using groovy so I'm not sure what parts of the language are built-in and what parts are Hubitat specific.. where do devs look to figure these references out?

// *** Presence ***
    def linkText = getLinkText(device)
    def handlerName = ( memberPresence == "present" ) ? "arrived" : "left"
    def descriptionText = "Life360 member " + linkText + " has " + handlerName
    if(logEnable) log.debug "linkText = $linkText, descriptionText = $descriptionText, handlerName = $handlerName, memberPresence = $memberPresence"
    def results = [
          name: "presence",
          value: memberPresence,
          linkText: linkText,
          descriptionText: descriptionText,
          handlerName: handlerName
    ]
    sendEvent (results)
    state.presence = memberPresence

In the driver you are modifying it is commented out: hubitat-drivers/life360_driver.groovy at master ยท jpage4500/hubitat-drivers ยท GitHub

I'm not sure where it comes from.

Ok thanks.. so you're saying getLinkText() isn't something that's built-in at all but defined in another class/import?

That's what I was trying to figure out.. I didn't see it but I'll look for it now that I know it's not built-in somehow

This is not something I would use on Hubitat, though I just tested and it apparently exists. It just returns the display name of the passed device, i.e., the displayName property, which was once called linkText on SmartThings but deprecated long ago (but apparently something people kept copying into new DTHs and even Hubitat drivers, where it is likely included for compatibility). I would use device.displayName instead.

To answer this:

I suppose the Groovy stuff you'll just have to know or learn, but Hubitat-specific methods are all in the developer documentation: