Fans (not lighting)

i feel fans always fall into the lighting category.

I have a fan that just has 2 wires. power to the switch then a single wire to the fan. No neutral in the box.

Right now i have a zen71/72/76 at my house and a few Luntron Diva Dimmers.

What is the best to use with this? is it the diva dimmers?

I understand you should NOT use a dimmer for fans.
I have not used these, but I have seen them. They report not requiring a "neutral wire". I have several Zoos switches and dimmers, as I recall, they do require a neutral wire. Here is another Just found. Both of these are on Amazon. The MoesGo is WiFi, this second one is Zigbee.

While I cannot vouch for either, it does appear to be an option.
(just because it says "Light switch" doesn't mean you can't use it for a fan *** provided the switch has sufficient load rating for the motor***) I'm not an electrician.
Thank you ogiewon for this important point.

Dimmers cannot be used to control inductive motor loads, like ceiling fans. One must use either a purpose built fan controller, like the Lutron Caseta Fan Controller, or a true smart switch (non-dimmer) that is rated for electrical motor loads.

Unfortunately, most of these require a neutral wire.

If your fan does have a wireless remote control, you may want to consider using a Bond hub to control it.

2 Likes

Great suggestion...

1 Like

Actually, one should never use a switch or dimmer for a fan (inductive motor load) unless the device specifically states it is compatible with a motor load. :wink:

5 Likes

More great points... Thank you.

1 Like

i think i wsa assuming since the zen71 works with a fan then the lutrons would also. thanks everyone glad i asked. ill look at some of the suggestions

1 Like