ELSE never fires

Hi. Sorry I am new to Hubitat and this is my first rule. I tried searching but most posts I found are on the old version of RM

In the following rule, the lights never actually turn off. They should be turning off after 2 minutes of inactivity. Not sure what i did wrong.

Change your trigger to Motion “changed” instead of active.

Also, you’re going to want to add a “Cancel delayed actions” to your IF actions.... AND modify your ELSE’s delayed OFF action to be a cancellable.

1 Like

Change trigger to “change”

It works!!!! Thanks a lot. Newbie mistake. Btw, I assume that your other suggestions will allow the lights to stay on until there’s been no motion for 2 minutes? Otherwise it turns off lights after 2 minutes regardless? Here’s my new setup:

1 Like

If you want it to stay on during motion change the following.

This should work...

Trigger

Motion changed

If time and motion active
Cancel delayed actions
Turn on
ELSE if motion not active and time is this and light is on
Turn off after delay of 2 mins With cancel on
End IF

1 Like

Correct! Your rule looks fine to me.

1 Like

FWIW, there's an example exactly like what you want in the Rule 4.0 documentation--I know it doesn't sound fun to read, but RM is complex and I'd recommend doing so. :slight_smile:

I'd also recommend Hubitat Simple Lighting or Motion Lighting for this automation instead. They're a lot easier to set up (for anyone but especially if you're new to the platform), either can handle everything you're doing, and they might execute a bit faster since they are much smaller apps than Rule Machine and take less time to load (milliseconds, possibly only dozens or hundreds, but possibly important if you're walking into an indoor room).

Good luck either way, and glad you got it figured out in RM!