PREVIOUSLY Disappointed in my C-8 experience -- Now much improved

I have had a C-7 for a year and a half so I am not a complete novice. I bought a C-8 directly from the hubitat website to provide insight on a house I am inheriting while it is empty. It was a horrible experience. ZWAVE wouldn't pair or unpair reliably. I have three devices which reliably pair/unpair with my C-7. They were complete disasters with the C-8. I was using POE (with one of the tested and verified adapters). So I said OK, maybe it is a power problem, I will ONLY use the included USB wall-wart. It was still unreliable. I soft-reset. No change. I ZWAVE reset. No change. I factory reset (while using the factory USB) . No change. I finally ordered another C-7. I don't have time to waste with the C-8 or with RMA. I thought the C-8 would be fairly "well baked" since it has been out for a while. Disappointed is an understatement.

2 Likes

Z-Wave is substantially similar between the C-7 and C-8. While the hardware is upgraded (800 series from 700 series), they share the same SDK, and the early 700-series quirks (and there were quite a few...) have mostly been worked out by now. All this to say, your experience with Z-Wave is unusual.

I don't see any other posts from you with more information about your Z-Wave problems. While using your C-7 is certainly a fine path if that works for you, if you are interested in troubleshooting your C-8, I would suggest sharing more details about your network and devices (make/and model of the devices and the contents of your Z-Wave Details table are good places to srtart). I'm also unclear on how you're "migrating," as it sounds like you might be doing a manual process; there is a one-time free cloud migration between upgraded models that should do everything for you without needing to pair/include/etc. anything on the new hub in the first place.