Device Shows in Z Wave Details But Not In Device List

I am brand new to Hubitat and Zwave - trying to migrate from using and accumulating X-10 devices for 40 years. Anyway, I have successfully installed about 30 devices (module and wall dimmers and switches) over the last couple of weeks, but it's all very new to me. My problem is this - I installed and included a wall dimmer in the mesh, and then uninstalled the device from the wall after an issue arose. I believe I then removed (force "removed") the device. Everything was fine - Device List has the same list of devices as the "Z-wave Details" page. I then later reinstalled the switch in the wall, but have been unable to include or set it up. The device now appears on the Z wave Details page, but not on my Device List. It has no device name, only a "Discover" button - and also an option to "Refresh" and "Repair" in the status column. Nothing happens when I hit "Discover" or "Refresh." If I hit repair, it tells me it has been repaired.

I want to be able to name and configure the device like normal, or "remove" the device and start over again. Any suggestions? If so, please dumb it down to newbie level. Thanks in advance!

Hello Joe353,

First, great description of the issue! Because the device was force removed, it is still linked to Hubitat. In order to add it again, it will need to be completely removed.

If I’m not mistaken, you will need to first unplug from the wall. Then, in the Z-Wave details screen, you will need to hit refresh one to several times until an option to remove appears.

Once this is done, you should go to the add device page, choose Z-Wave and select “Start Z-Wave Exclusion”, and put the device in inclusion/exclusion mode. If successful, it will indicate that an unknown device has been removed.